Search CarGuide.PH

September 10, 2012

Winners of 2012 Petron Student Art Competition Announced

The winners for Petron Corporation’s annual student art competition were honored in ceremonies held last 30 August 2012, at the Diamond Hotel in Manila. Themed Lakbay Alalay Para Sa Kalikasan —A Journey of Nurturing Nature, this year’s competition focused on the different ways of caring for and protecting the environment, such as Petron's own efforts to protect biodiversity through coastal management, reforestation, mangrove planting, creating fish sanctuaries and artificial reefs, and protecting sea turtles.

A record-breaking 1,700 entries were submitted in the three competition categories, namely: painting (oil/acrylic and water-based media); photography; and printmaking.  Three National Artists—Benedicto Cabrera, who served as chairman; Napoleon Abueva and Abdulmari Imao—were among the 9 judges of the painting category.  The photography category was chaired by Wig Tysmans, while the printmaking category was chaired by Raul Isidro.  To kick off the awarding ceremony, the Vision Petron judges symbolically planted seedlings to signify their commitment to saving and preserving the environment for future generations.

In the oil/acrylic painting category, the grand prize winners were: Lance Kirby Yaneza (Feati University) - Kakabambal Ko ang Kalikasan; Salvador Banares, Jr. (University of the East Caloocan) - Hope; and Emil Reambillo (University of Rizal System Morong) -Unending Journey.

For the water-based media painting category, the grand prize winners were: Don Bryan Michael Bunag (Bulacan State University) - Magkaibang Magkaibigan; John Mark Saycon (PUP Sta. Mesa) - Salamin ng Buhay; and  Arman Jay Arago (University of Rizal System Morong) - Pagkamulat.

The photography grand prize winners were: Kyrke Stephen Jaleco (UP Baguio) - Volunteers; Alexis Gapal (UE Caloocan) - Nature's Black Knights; Marc Henrich Go (University of Santo Tomas) - Life; Oliver Lagda (TIP Quezon City) - Barely Surviving; Shiela Mae De Vera (UE Caloocan) - Punla Para sa Bagong Bukas; and Gib Sam Salak (Adventist University of the Philippines) - Explorers.

For printmaking, the grand prize winners were: Mitchell Domingo (UE Caloocan) - Pawikan and Change; Hyacinth Lyn Laoke (UP Diliman) - Gandang Kalikasan Mukha ng Pilipinas; John Jonar Garcia (UE Caloocan) - Anihan.

Also recognized were the top five schools with the most number of entries: Bulacan State University; University of the East-Caloocan; Adventist University of the Philippines; Technological University of the Philippines; and the University of Santo Tomas.

Everyone’s Vision Petron is a competition for young photographers, painters and designers. It is also a venue for filmmakers, musicians, performance artists, art enthusiasts, and all Filipinos to converge and be one through their shared love for Philippine art and culture.  

Petron believes that everyone has his/her own unique perspective on things and that this uniqueness can be expressed in so many different ways.  This is the inspiration behind Everyone’s Vision Petron — the belief that free artistic expression remains intrinsic to nation-building.

Everyone’s Vision Petron is open to all talented students enrolled in a regular university or college course, or in tutorial art and photography classes.  Participants must be Filipino and ages 15-28 years old. Student artists may compete in three categories:  Painting (oil and water-based media), photography, and print-making (production of printed images on paper).

In the painting category, the grand prize winners each received P50,000; for the colored photography category, grand prize winners received P30,000; and in the printmaking category, the grand prize winners also received P30,000. In addition, they each received a trophy/plaque designed by National Artist Napoleon Abueva.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.