Search CarGuide.PH

January 14, 2015

Ford Awards Motoring Journalism Excellence at 14th Annual Henry Ford Awards

Ford Philippines celebrates motoring journalism excellence today at the 14th annual Henry Ford Awards (HFA), the country’s most prestigious journalism award-giving body that recognizes the best multimedia work of journalists that helped drive and shape the automotive industry in 2014.

HFA remains the only one journalism award that recognizes excellence in print, broadcast and online media in the automotive sphere. With over 200 submitted entries in 2014 - nearly double the amount of entries submitted the previous year - more and more automotive and lifestyle journalists participated this year, with entries competing for a total of 12 awards in eight regular categories and four special categories.

“Over the years, we have seen the growth in effective storytelling in the automotive industry with the media staying true to their commitment and passion to provide accurate news and information to the public,” said Joseph Ayllón, assistant vice president for Communications, Ford Philippines.

“With almost double the amount of entries we have received this year, the annual HFA has stayed strong over the years. We would like to thank our friends in the media for their continued role in shaping the automotive as well as their continued support to share our One Ford story with their readers,” Ayllón added.

This year’s HFA winners include James Deakin of Philippine Star for ‘Automotive Print Feature’, Andy Leuterio of for ‘Automotive Column’, Dinzo Tabamo of for ‘Automotive Online Feature’, and James Deakin of for ‘Automotive Blog.’

Also recognized were Carlo Chungunco of Top Gear Philippines for the ‘Green and Smart Technology Feature’ category, Kristine Fonacier of Grid Magazine for the ‘Automotive Lifestyle Feature’; Tony Velasquez of ANC’s Future Perfect for ‘Automotive Video Feature’, and Alfred Mendoza of Top Gear Philippines for ‘Best Published Photograph.’

Winners for the special Ford Categories include Steven Yu of C! Magazine for ‘Ford Automotive Feature’, Ulysses Ang of Philippine Star for ‘Go Further Feature’(re-printed in CarGuide.PH), and Eugene Araneta of for ‘Ford Published Photograph.’

The most anticipated award, ‘Best Broadsheet Motoring Section,’ was presented to Fast Times of The Manila Times. All national broadsheet automotive sections are automatically included in the competition and judged on content, relevance, consistency and layout quality.

“Through HFA, Ford is strengthening its commitment to honor and give due recognition to both automotive and lifestyle journalists who have displayed unparalleled excellence in automotive journalism. With their stories, these journalists have influenced consumers in their decisions and have contributed to the growing industry,” said Ayllón.

The panel of judges for this year’s Henry Ford Awards was composed of experts in the academe and corporate world.  All entries went through the review and scrutiny of the panel via a two-phase judging process.

Phase one judges included esteemed academicians who have been part of the HFA judging panel for the past few years: Danilo Arao, Associate Dean, College of Mass Communications, University of the Philippines; Dr. Francine Racho, Vice Dean, School of Communications, University of Asia and the Pacific; and Dr. Severino Sarmenta, Jr., School of Communications, Ateneo de Manila University.

Phase two judges comprised of Charo Logarta-Lagamon, Chief Public Information and Assistance Division, Bureau of Customs; Marla Alvarez, Communications CSR and Site Strategy Manager, Thomson Reuters; and Kay Hart, Managing Director, Ford Philippines.

HFA also sought out the expertise of special judges in their field like travel and lifestyle Chief Photographer Paco Guerrero and Ogilvy & Mather’s Executive Creative Director, Richmond Walker.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.