Search CarGuide.PH

January 31, 2015

2015 NDRC Takes on Quarter Mile in Batangas Racing Circuit

After hosting a successful first round of the Northern Series two weeks ago, the National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC) moves to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) today for the start of the Southern Series.

Sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), the event is expected to attract over 100 drivers that will compete in four categories, which is one less than the Northern Series. Namely, they are the HotStreet Class, Sportsman Class, Expert Class, and Pro Class.

The Super Pro Class, unfortunately, is not run in BRC due the track's limited length.

Big names that are expected to clock in some of the fastest quarter mile times of the day include the Hondas of  TJ Pangilinan in the CabSpeed Civic EK, Aaron Lao in the MRD Performance Civic EG, and Jackson Go in another EG built by H3 Autoworks. But their FF machines will face stiff competition from the AWDs of Allan Ararao in the W-Autosport Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 3, teammate Vanni Garcia in the Mitsubishi Cyborg, and reigning champion Jonathan Tiu in the JCT-Blanche Nissan GT-R.

If the Northern Series' first round was any indication, the main battles in the Pro Class for this weekend is once again expected to be between brothers Martin and Mark Joseph Manalo of RSL Motorsports, while the Expert Class could be a clash from cousins Arvin Millet and Jannery Millet of TEMZ Automart.

Registration starts at 6:30 AM followed by the practice runs at 7:00 AM. The qualifiers will then promptly begin at 9:00 AM and competition at 11:00 AM.

Entry fee is P2,000 per driver, plus a P300 day license from AAP and P400 for insurance. Super Pro and Pro Class drivers, however must secure an AAP National Competition License to join. You may check out the full NDRC safety and sporting regulations at

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is comprised of a four-round Northern and four-round Southern Series that is hosted at the Clark International Speedway (CIS) and Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC), respectively. It is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.