Search CarGuide.PH

February 6, 2015

Tiu Posts Back-to-Back Victories at the NDRC Southern Series

Jonathan Tiu bagged another overall victory at the 2015 National Drag Racing Championship (NDRC), which had its first Southern Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) last January 31.

The JCT-Blanche driver didn't have the most ideal start to the race weekend. Not only had he recently recovered from a minor illness, but also had to deal with drivetrain issues in his “Tiunami 1” Nissan GT-R on race day. Lacking four-wheel drive, the team had to reduce the engine’s enormous power output and allow different traction control strategies in order for the car to compete in the day’s races.

A quarter mile time of 12.184 seconds is a far cry from the team’s normal capabilities, but it was enough for the reigning champion to bag 1st place in the Quick 8s. Only Mark Manalo of the Batangas-based RSL Motorsports team was able to stand a challenge against Tiu with a 13.686 second run, earning him 2nd place. Jonathan Young, fielding another JCT-Blanche No. 115 Honda Integra, got a 'bye' for 3rd after Allan Ararao and his Vannitech W-Autosport Mitsubishi Evolution 3 withdrew due to a mechanical issue.

For the Pro Class, Martin Manalo and his brother Mark Joseph of RSL Motorsports were able to box out the podium in their matching Honda Civic EG race cars. Martin in the No. 76 car took home 1st place, while younger brother Mark Joseph with the No. 67 machine came in 3rd. Jonathan Young of JCT-Blanche went in between the two racers to stand on 2nd spot.

In the Expert Class, Mark Malibiran garnered the podium’s top spot with a quarter mile time of 13.645 seconds. Chris Jayson Millet bagged 2nd, while John Jeremie Cabreros got the last podium spot despite running a red light during his final battle.

The highly-contested Sportsman Class, on the other hand, saw Robert Palmero II inherit the top spot after Sherwin Jay Esguerra broke out of his dial-in time. Likewise, Arvin Jay Millet's 13.790 second quarter mile run was quicker than his own dial-in time, but was otherwise able to hold on to 3rd place.

1st place in the Hot Street Class went to Cer Olliriz Alcala after rival Phoebo Ansel Perez ran a red light during their final run. This left Malvin Alcantara to collect 3rd place in class.

All in all 151 drivers contested in the NDRC's five official classes, where the majority were in the entry-level Sportsman and Hot Street classes, which indicates the popularity of drag racing to novice motorsports participants. The NDRC heads back to Clark International Speedway for the second leg of the Northern Series on February 14, 2015, concurrent with the Clark International Motor Show (CIMS).

The 2015 National Drag Racing Championship is is sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP) and sponsored by M&H Tires, Sparco, GT Radial, and Aguila Auto Glass.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.