Search CarGuide.PH

July 31, 2012

Round 1 of 2012 Lateral Drift Championship Series

Photo by Lazlo Trinidad
It was a guaranteed successful kick-off event for automotive drifting fans as they witnessed sideways action of the Lateral Drift Championship Series held last weekend at Quirino Grandstand. Last year, only a portion of the grandstand was occupied, specifically the curved road going to the entrance of Ocean Park because it was partnered up with another event. But this year the entire Parade Grounds was solely occupied only for drift action for spectators to enjoy.

In 2006 the Parade Grounds was one of the venues used during its early events when they were starting up, and back then drifting was not as popular. Now, they smoke, burn rubber, and rev their engines like they never did before in front of the Manila crowd.

The track layout was similar to the Formula D Malaysia, Mardeka street battle.  A total of 25 drivers (18 Pro & 7 Amateurs) were able to participate, and the others due to car problems were forced to park their cars instead and enjoy the thrill of Round 1.

The Pro drivers were delighted and honored to see one of the pioneers of Philippine Drifting, from Team DMF founder “David Murphy Feliciano”. It was his first time to compete locally and has now enjoyed competing sideways with his former students. Feliciano has represented the Philippines internationally for Formula Drift Asia last 2009 and 2010.

After all the practice runs, the action started with the Amateur Division. Top 4 were the following: Jet Mathay of Team DMF/HKS, Rad Albano of Team Autocraft, Jesus Sala, and Robert Tan.  Newbies Tan & Albano battled for 3rd place. Albano a student of 2012 Pro Champion Audel Sison, took the 3rd place position. The Battle for 1st with Jet Mathay and Jesus Salas was close to the edge, as both drivers were skilled similarly to pro drifters already. Jet Mathay of Team DMF drift and his HKS Nissan S15 took 1st place for Round 1.

In the Pro division you can see how highly skilled all these drifters were. Judges Pepon Marave (AF3 Champion), Ronnie Trinidad (, and Mon Rayos (Co-founder of Lateral Drift) were highly experienced in judging drift angles, clipping points, speed, and style.

The final 4 Pro Division, were former 5th time Champion Alex Perez of Team Yellow Cab, Boodie Dabasol of Team Drift G, David M. Feliciano of Team DMF Drift, and the 2012 Lateral Drift Champion Audel Sison of  Team Autocraft. The battle for 3rd place between Boodie Dabasol, and David Feliciano was a cat and mouse game. Both drivers showed great speed, line, and angle but Feliciano showed more of what was needed to take 3rd place ranking. The Championship battle between the 2 champs showed how hungry they were for this year crown. Both runs were so clean, as the objective of the game is to mirror the opponent who is the head, with a closest gap possible. After a close look at video replays the judges ruled and awarded the 2nd place to Alex Perez and 2012 overall champ Audel Sison took 1st place as Round 1 Champion. 
Lateral drift Championship 2012 will have its next 2nd Round on August 18, 2012 and venue to be announced on Racing Beat, Wave 891 on Wednesday 8pm and others to be posted on their page and media partners.

Lateral Drift would like to thank Dickies, DC shoes, Light Hand Dental Clinic, Atoy Customs, Aikka Paints, and EDSA hosting. Our media friends and partners Philippines Daily Inquirer, Wave 891, Racing Beat, AutoReview, StoplightTV, Top Gear Philippines,, Powerwheels, Motorcycle Magazine, and

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.