Search CarGuide.PH

March 18, 2013

24th Mitsubishi Lancer International Junior Tennis Championship This Week!

Organizers of the country’s longest running international junior tennis tournament, Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corp. (MMPC), International Tennis Federation (ITF) and Philippine Tennis Association (Philta) are expecting an even more exciting Mitsubishi Lancer International Junior Tennis Championship (MLIJTC) as the biggest juniors’ tournament in Asia opens on March 19, 2013.

More than 120 players from around the globe will battle it out at the Rizal Memorial Stadium as the tournament becomes tougher with this years’ lineup of junior netters.  Among the top-seeded players who will compete on the 24th MLIJTC are Nikola Milojevic of Serbia (ITF Ranking - 2), Borna Coric of Croatia (ITF Ranking - 6), Luke Bambridge of Great Britain (ITF Ranking – 24), and Lucas Miedler of Austria (ITF Ranking – 34) for the boys division and for the girls division are Ching-Wen Hsu of Taipei (ITF Ranking – 7), Ipek Soylu of Turkey (ITF Ranking – 33), Nina Stojanovic of Serbia (ITF Ranking – 40) and Shilin Xu of China (ITF Ranking – 46).  Host country’s ace is 16 year old Jurence Zosimo Mendoza who ranks 11th on the boys list and with number 1 national ranking.  Last years’ champions were Nikola Milojevic of Serbia and Storm Sanders of Australia for the Singles Division and for the Doubles are Jay Andricic and Jordan Thompson of Australia and Mami Adachi and Hikari Yamamoto of Japan.

For more than two decades, the MLIJTC continues to be a training venue for aspiring future tennis superstars. On its 24th year MMPC is pleased to share the fruits of this tourney who are now considered as superstars in the field of tennis. Among them are Lleyton Hewitt who was the youngest male tennis player to rank as number one and recognized as one of the 40 greatest tennis players since 1965 by Tennis Magazine, American Andy Roddick who was former world number 1 professional tennis player, and Leander Paes of India were some of the tennis players that this tourney has witnessed and likewise produced. Among our very own players who once competed in the MLIJTC and gave pride to the country were Francesca La’o, Jennifer Saret, Maricris Fernandez who captured No. 1 ranking in Asia among players under 14 and the last Filipino to win a gold medal in the singles of the Southeast Asian Games, and Francis Alcantara who was an Australian Open Grand Slam winner.

The 24th MLIJTC is also made possible through its major sponsor the renowned sports brand, Accel, in cooperation with Tecnifibre -24th MLIJTC official tennis ball, Gatorade, Hidden Spring and Century Park Hotel.

The tournament will open on March 19 until March 24 at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Stadium. MMPC is inviting everyone to witness these junior netters sweat it out for the grand championship title.  Admission is free!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.