Search CarGuide.PH

April 15, 2017

Over 100 Entries Battle in Round 2 of the 2017 FlatOut Race Series

The 2017 season of the FlatOut Race Series (FORS) is now in full swing as 105 entries took to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) last 1st of April for Round 2.

Track temperatures sizzled under hot summer sun, but this failed to slow down the drivers who competed in the Time Attack and Grid Racers. On the contrary, the battles became more intense as the day wore on, the biggest winner of which was JC Baguisa.

The driver of the #696 Blanche Racing Honda Civic EG set the best time of the day in Time Attack with a 1:48.440 lap, earning him 1st place in both Bracket R and Bracket A. His strong performance in GT Radial Grid A also allowed him to take another podium with 2nd place.

2016 champion Eduardo Suiza set a fastest lap of 1:49.583 in his #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG to claim another 2nd for both Bracket R and A. Likewise, Dondon Portugal was again 3rd with his  1:50.457 best.

It was the same familiar faces topping the time sheets in Bracket B. Andrew De Asis in the #23 Honda Civic EG was 1st with a time of 1:56.158. Aaron Lao was again 2nd, while Round 1 winner Ed Christian Go had to settle for 3rd. His brother Ed Christopher Go, on the other hand, had better fortunes in Bracket C claiming 1st with a time of 1:59.043. 12-year-old Miggy Sohu won his 2nd place victory in a row as did Paul Santos was once again 3rd.

The top drivers in Bracket D were Raymond De Pano and Jack Saquilayan who were 1st and 2nd, respectively. Meanwhile, Henry Paul De Dios was fastest in Bracket E with Paolo Santos in 2nd. Robert Tan moved up the time sheet from the previous round in Bracket F, taking 1st with a 2:08.204 lap. Lars Alonzo 2nd and Michael Angelo Turing came 3rd.

Bracket G was once again the biggest class of the day, growing to 13 entries. Andre Tan was the fastest the group in 1st, followed by Greg Suing in 2nd, and Noel Delos Reyes in 3rd.

The Mitsubishi Evolutions of Richmon Dela Rosa, Dondon Portugal, and Ferdie Sia jumped to an early lead in the 12-lap GT Radial Grid A race. But one by one, their 4WD machines faltered. Dela Rosa retired on lap 4 while Portugal stopped in the middle of the track on lap 8. This allowed Rafael la O' in the #1 Honda Civic EK to inherit the lead and win by a 16 sec margin. JC Baguisa crossed the line in 2nd and Sia hung on to finish 3rd.

In KYB Grid B, Patrichk Dela Rosa was untouchable in the #66 Honda Civic Del Sol, winning the race by a 5 sec advantage. Andrew De Asis and Sherwin Bargos were locked in a tight battle for 2nd with De Asis taking the position until the chequered flag. Polo Bautista was sent flying to the barriers in SmartFuels Grid C, but was able to rejoin the race and even finish 2nd. Paul Santos' race was relatively incident free and took 1st place. In 3rd was Hector Tan.

There was a huge 14-car train in Recaro Grid D, all fighting for position throughout the 10-lap race. Leading the pack were Robbie Alvarez in the silver #207 Honda Civic EG with the #480 small body Toyota Corolla of Raymond De Pano trailing behind. Thee pair would cross the line 1st and 2nd in that order, followed by Jack Saquilayan in 3rd. Greg Suing won in Works Bell Grid E by a small 0.546 sec gap to 2nd placer Ralph Tan. Lars Alonso finished a further second behind in 3rd.

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) will be back at the Batangas Racing Circuit for Round 3 on May 20, 2017.

1 comment:

  1. A lot of those Evo's faltered. Due to differential breakdown?


Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.