Search CarGuide.PH

July 22, 2014

Round 2 of Yokohama Philippine GT Championship on July 27

After more than a month's break, the Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship is returning to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) for Round 2 of the 2014 season.

Don Don Portugal dominated the GT300 class in Round 1, fending off the challenge from Jomai Yllana. But he'll be facing stiffer competition in the next race as more drivers are expected to join the grid, including Tuason Racing School driver VM Kaikkonen. It is, however, still uncertain if reigning champion Jody Coseteng will be defending his title this year.

In GT200, 2013 PTCC champion Carlos Anton is determined to catch up to Paolo Mantolino, William Tan, and Joey Perry in the championship standings after a DNF in race 2. Anton crashed heavily in round 1 after he was pushed on the very first lap. But the veteran driver has now repaired his Honda Civic FD in time for round 2.

Likewise, GT150 driver Richmon dela Rosa, who was involved in the crash with Anton, has replaced his Honda Civic EG with a more potent machine. Dela Rosa says that it'll be a surprise and hopes that it's quick enough to go up against the machines of Joel Portugal, Bong Perez, Ed Anguluan, and Raymond Ronquillo.

Finally, Edwin Rodriguez in the Mazda Philippines-sponsored Mazda 2 is looking forward to repeat his dominance in GT100.

Practice is scheduled on Saturday (July 26), while race day (July 27) will feature a the 10-lap Sprint Race in the morning and a 17-lap GT Race in the afternoon. Other support races slated for the race weekend include the Philminiracers Championships Series, VW KaFER Cup, Winds Formula Philippines, and the newly-formed Sparco Bracket Circuit Racing.

The 2014 Philippine Grand Touring Car Championship is sanctioned by the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP), sponsored by Petronas Energy Philippines, Inc. and Yokohama Tires Sales Philippines, Inc.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.