Search CarGuide.PH

July 24, 2014

30 Drift Drivers Competed at Hyundai Lateral Drift Round 2; Round 3 Slated on August 23

Last Sunday saw more sideways action at the Mega Tent grounds in Libis for the second leg of the Hyundai Lateral Drift Championship. A total of 30 drift drivers from the amateur and pro division battled it out for the top slot in this year’s series.

Drift couple Japan D1 Grand Prix drifter and race car driver Kimihiro Obata and wife Hiromi Kajikuma pulled a surprise challenge on the contenders by changing the track layout.

Since 2013, this pair of drift aficionados has established global standards for the sport, pushing drifters everywhere to improve every round.

The growing popularity of drifting has drawn numerous newbies to bravely put their driving skills to a test. In the Amateur Division, Adrian Jonsay of Team GMW bagged First Place; Karr Montaner of Drive Hard Crew, Second Place; and Patrick Hesse of Team Drift Mob, Third Place.

In the Pro Division, another newcomer, Jowil Lazaga of Team GMW, astonished judges and spectators and grabbed First Place with his amazing sideways speed action. Lazaga has been competing in slalom races and is being molded by Boddie Dabasol, leader of team GMW, to compete. On 2nd and 3rd place respectively were Drift Tandem from Pilipinas Got Talent, Gio Rodriquez and teammate Ralph Tan, both from Team A-toy Customs.

The Hyundai Lateral Drift Pro-Am Championship Series 2014 is powered by the Hyundai Genesis Coupe, with Saffiro Tires as Official Tire Sponsor, Dickies Clothing as Official Outfitter, and Aguila Glass as Official Auto Glass Sponsor.

Round 3 will happen on August 23, 2014 at the Quirino Grandstand.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.