Search CarGuide.PH

Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Hyundai Lateral Drift Celebrates 10 Years; 2015 Season Kicks Off March 21

This year marks the 10th season of the Lateral Drift Championship Series, which started with the goal to introduce drifting as a motorsport to Filipino enthusiasts. Since 2005, its first season, drifting in the Philippines has come a long way. Amateur and professional drifters have multiplied, cars have evolved, and the number of drifting fans is still growing continuously.

With the support of Hyundai Asia Resources Inc. (HARI), a partner for the 3rd straight year, the vision of Lateral Drift Productions to grow the motorsport has become a reality. Today, Filipino drivers are proving that their skills are worthy of international competition. Aside from drivers, drifting mechanics and tuners as well have also shown they can hold their own in the global stage.

Hyundai understands the serious sport of drifting, and the Genesis Coupe is the answer to heavy drifting needs. The Genesis Coupe’s superior styling and solid durability combined with powerful engine and precise steering gives it the maneuverability that suits the standard of drifters. Japanese drift duo Hiromi Kajikuma, and Kimihiro Obata, who will again serve as judges in the competition, can attest to the Genesis Coupe's excellent handling, performance, and style.

On March 21, 2015, the new season of the Hyundai Lateral Drift Pro-Am Championship Series will kick off with the first of six rounds. The competition will take place in new venues to further expand the reach to the fans. The venue for Round One will be at Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP Complex), while Rounds Two and Three will be held in the new Tarlac Race Park in Tarlac City and The Philippine Sports Arena in Bulacan, respectively.

Prepare for even more excitement as we welcome familiar faces in new places in this year’s competition, led by last year’s judge Jason Choachuy now pitting against other pro drivers, which include back-to-back Hyundai Lateral Drift Champion Gio Rodriguez of Team A-toy Customs.

Long-time drift instructor Paolo Arespacochaga takes Choachuy’s place in the judges’ helm, while six-time drift champion Alex Perez also joins the fray as this year’s Race Director, with a goal to further grow the sport.

Catch all the rubber-burning action on these dates:
  • Round 1 - March 21 (CCP Complex)
  • Round 2 - April 18 (Tarlac Race Park, Tarlac City)
  • Round 3 - May 23 (The Philippine Sports Arena, Bulacan)
  • Round 4 - June 20 (Venue: TBA)
  • Round 5 - July 18 (Venue: TBA)
  • Round 6 - Date and Venue: TBA

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.