Search CarGuide.PH

March 1, 2015

Toyota Announces Vios Cup 2015

Toyota Motor Philippines, the country’s undisputed number one automotive company announces the second season of the Vios Cup that kicks off at the Clark International Speedway later this month. Instilling “waku-doki” or “fun-to-drive” attitude in its cars, the Japanese automaker is on a high after the successful staging of the first-ever Vios Cup last year. Already boasting the largest grid in Philippine motorsports history, this year sees even more drivers (38 confirmed participants) including some of the hottest celebrities in the country such as Derek Ramsay, Jasmine Curtis, Kylie Padilla, and Joyce Pring. There will also be four legs this year including one which will be held “outside of Luzon”.

“As we launch Season 2 of the Vios Cup, we will remain committed to lead this grassroots racing program developing basic motorsports knowledge and to hone racing skills of Filipinos. Catered to just about anyone, the Vios Cup has been designed for non-professionals making it a platform even for first-time racers. It is my personal belief that the Motor Sports is not only for the affluent motoring enthusiasts but something that is for anyone to appreciate and enjoy,” says Mr. Michinobu Sugata, President of Toyota Motor Philippines.

This year, the Toyota Vios Cup aims to make the races more exciting and safer for everyone. Several amendments have been made including the requirement of a HANS (Head and Neck Support) device for all racers. Racers are also split into two groups with Group A gunning for championship points, prize money and trophies while Group B going for trophies only. Celebrity and media drivers (if any) are automatically included in Group B. Groupings are determined based on qualifying lap times. And during race weekends, all drivers are required to pass a medical check-up, especially if he or she has been involved in an accident.

Guaranteeing consistent race officiating, Toyota and its event partner, Tuason Racing School (TRS) is getting the services of an ex-Filipino racing driver as well as a foreign driver appointed by Toyota Racing Development (TRD) to join the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) on the board of race stewards. Amendments have also been done to the point scoring system this year to keep the championship battle alive throughout the season. Out-of-circuit races have double points while the season finale back at the Clark International Speedway carries a points multiplier of 1.5.

Even the cars themselves see changes this year. The minimum total weight of the car and driver is raised to 1,100 kilograms to mimic the rules of the Vios Cup races held in other regions, potentially leading to a regional race in the near future. And even the tires used has been changed to the Bridgestone Potenza RE002 tire.

The first round of the Toyota Vios Cup 2015 kicks off on March 21 at the Clark International Speedway and sees the return of The Drift King, Mr. Keiichi Tsuchiya. The event is free and open to the public. Gates open at 10 in the morning. There is also a free shuttle service looping to and from Holiday Inn Clark, Mimosa Leisure Estate on that day.

“This March 21, we are all set to kick-off the first race this year; the fun will be driven into even newer heights as we push the pedal to the metal at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga. With new celebrities and some familiar faces that will make up the second season, to an additional leg outside of Luzon now making a total of 4 races… because of this our dream of bringing the race even closer to the people will be further realized. All in all, I am confident that this motorsports program will gain even more following this season making it more fun in the Philippines,” reiterates Mr. Sugata.

The 2015 Toyota Vios Cup is in partnership with Bridgestone and Rota, supported by Motul, TRD, Denso, Brembo, AVT, OMP and Tuason Racing.

List of Confirmed Racer (as of February 26, 2015)
  • Sam Gogna (Celebrity)
  • Phoemela Barranda (Celebrity)
  • Jinno Rufino (Celebrity)
  • Derek Ramsay (Celebrity)
  • Kylie Padilla (Celebrity)
  • Joyce Pring (Celebrity)
  • Jasmine Curtis (Celebrity)
  • Tonton Ramos (TSF / Mekeni Racing)
  • Pauland Dumlao (TSF / Mekeni Racing)
  • Steve Bicknell (TSF / Mekeni Racing)
  • Alexis Salvador (TSF / Mekeni Racing)
  • Kyle Reyes (TSF / Mekeni Racing)
  • Inaki Araneta (TAI / Alabang Motorsports)
  • Andres Calma (TAI / Andres Calma)
  • Carlos Castaneda / Rudy Bunag (Flashbacks Racing)
  • Basti Escalante (TOT)
  • Luis Gono (TNE)
  • Paul Ang (TMR / Paul Ang)
  • Robert Lilles (TMR / Robert Lilles)
  • Charlie Cojuangco (TDG / TLU / TBG)
  • Bryan Co (TDG / TLU / TBG)
  • Carlos Loinaz (TBC / Barako Racing)
  • Ferdie Raquelsantos / Vic Buensuceso (TMI)
  • Dominic Ochoa (TQA)
  • Allan Uy (TQA)
  • Jeje Villena
  • Juan Nolasco
  • Bombi Palilio (TCC / Mekeni Racing)
  • JV Ejercito (TNE - Obengers)
  • Mon Tanjuatco (TQA)
  • Miguel Diaz (TAI / Alabang Motorsports)
  • Bobby Domingo (TAI)
  • Daniel Miranda (TBK)
  • Sherwin Hing (TQA)
  • Raymond Ronquillo (TBK)
  • Miko Maristela (TQA)
  • Tomohiro Iwamoto (TMP)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.