Search CarGuide.PH

September 24, 2017

Top Drivers Clash at 2017 FlatOut Race Series' Penultimate Event

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) returned to the Batangas Racing Circuit last September 9 for the 7th round of the 8-race 2017 calendar. This staged some of the season’s fiercest feuds on track as double points were up for grabs during the weekend. 82 entries ended up chasing after their championship titles in the Time Attack and Grid Races.

Eduardo Suiza of W-Autosport / Staging Lanes, on the other hand, had something else in mind. His main goal for the day was to reclaim the fastest lap of BRC, which he did by setting a 1:42.650 best to shatter the previous record by over 3 seconds. Another driver that blew the competition away was Team Forced Speed’s Eggy Ong who drove an error-free race to win in GT Radial Grid A.

Suiza’s blistering run allowed him to take 1st in Bracket R. Lance Binamira was once again 2nd in the BPS Racing Toyota Corolla AE92 with a 1:46.046 run, while Rafael la O’ ended up in 3rd. The Auto Magic Honda Civic EK of la O’ also managed 1st in Bracket A, followed by Suiza in 2nd, and a very deserving Kikong Dela Rama in 3rd.

Jero Consing from Bacolod is now a regular in the Bracket B podium, scoring another 1st place with his 1:56.562 lap. Andrew de Asis keeps his points lead with a 2nd and James Paul Santiago of A1 Racing gets 3rd in a newly-built Honda Civic EG.

The fastest in Bracket C was Jack Saquilayan who set a 1:59.111 best. In 2nd was Paul Santos and 3rd was lady driver Kathy Villar. Ralph Tan scored back-to-back wins in Bracket D. Behind him in the time sheets was Raymond De Pano in 2nd and AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) finalist Bernard Michael Santos in 3rd.

Carmudi Racing’s Ronn Catindig bested 8 other drivers in Bracket E to take 1st place. Dan Errol Panganiban had to settle for 2nd this time while Alvin Villaseñor completed the podium spots. The top 3 finishers in Bracket F were Andre Tan, Arbie Jacinto, and Noel Delos Reyes. Lastly, Jerome Hilado secured 1st in Bracket G, followed by 14-year-old Kody Ng in 2nd, and Felix Chua in 3rd.

It was a 2-way battle between Eduardo Suiza and Rafael la O’ during the 12-lap GT Radial Grid A race. Both drivers were equally matched and looked to be set for a photo finish. But the pair made contact on the last lap, allowing Eggy Ong to strike and take the chequered flag in 1st. Suiza salvaged 2nd while la O’ made it to the finish in 3rd.

The KYB Grid B race saw 5 cars fight for the win. There were some friendly contact in the back, while Aaron Lao and Andrew de Asis of Blanche Racing duelled up front. Lao would eventually win by a 2.108 sec lead from de Asis in 2nd. Ethanworx Racing’s Jonmark Ong finished 32.235 secs later in 3rd.

Despite a spin, Zacharry Mendoza managed to hold onto the lead and finish 1st in the SmartFuels Grid C race. Paul Santos collected another 2nd place, while Polo Bautista was bumped down to 3rd after a penalty for breaking out.

A huge 19-car train made up the Recaro Grid D and Worksbell Grid E race. Ronn Catindig lead the way and defended his position against his teammate Julian Diego and a hard charging Bernard Michael Santos. After 10 laps, Cantindig was able cross the finish line in 1st with Diego behind in 2nd and Santos in 3rd.

Andre Makkina Tan mixed it up with the Grid D boys, but otherwise had a comfortable gap to win in Grid E. The Toyota Yaris of Robert Tan and Steve Travers then took the last podium spots in 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) now prepares for the final showdown of the 2017 season, which will be held at the Clark International Speedway on October 14.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.