Search CarGuide.PH

August 25, 2022

Second Leg Of Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup Brought Out The Racers, And The All-New GR86

Toyota Motor Philippines brought back racers and fans to the Clark International Speedway for the second leg of the 2022 Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup.

Headlined by Toyota Gazoo Racing Philippines, circuit racers, veteran and up and coming racers from different teams, celebrities, and influencers dashed back to the track to claim spots in the podium for Circuit Championship and Autocross Challenge.

A total of 28 circuit racers participated across three categories—Promotional, Sporting, and Super Sporting—each of them giving their absolute best.

This time, Jay Lao of Happy Hotels/OT Racing Team claimed the top spot in the Promotional Class; followed by Toyota Team Cebu’s Alan Palacios and Jarond Mesina in second and third places, respectively.

In the Sporting Class, it was Jiro Garbes of JB Racing/Toyota San Fernando who championed as Russell Cabrera of Toyota Team Cebu and Royce Sarmiento of RMS Cars Racing Team followed to claim the second and third spots.

Lastly, R Racing Team’s Bryan Co took the first place in the Super Sporting Class, followed by Inigo Anton representing Toyota North EDSA – Obengers Racing Team then Gerard Loy of R Racing Team took the third place.

Meanwhile, in the Autocross Challenge, Miguel Romulo took the first place in the Celebrity Promotional Autocross; followed by Ashley Gosiengfiao in second, and Carla Lizardo in the third place.

Standing on the first spot podium for the Celebrity Sporting Autocross is Jules Aquino, with Arron Villaflor, and Enzo Pineda coming in second and third places, respectively.

Here is the complete list of winners of the 2022 Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup Leg 2

Circuit Championship

Promotional Class
  1. Jay Lao – Happy Hotels/OT Racing Team
  2. Alan Palacios – Toyota Team Cebu
  3. Jarond Mesina – Toyota Team Cebu
Sporting Class
  1. Jiro Garbes – JB Racing/Toyota Team San Fernando
  2. Russell Cabrera – Toyota Team Cebu
  3. Royce Sarmiento – RMS Cars Racing Team
Super Sporting Class
  1. Bryan Co – R Racing Team
  2. Inigo Anton – Toyota North EDSA – Obengers Racing Team
  3. Gerard Loy – R Racing Team
Autocross Challenge

Influencer Promotional Class

  1. Miguel Romulo
  2. Ashley Gosiengfiao
  3. Carla Lizardo
Influencer Sporting Class
  1. Jules Aquino
  2. Arron Villaflor
  3. Enzo Pineda
Media Promotional Class
  1. Pablo Salapantan
  2. Niko Villegas
  3. Siegwald Go
Media Sporting Class
  1. Jamil Lacuna
  2. Roy Robles
  3. Ronald de los Reyes
GR GT Promotional Class
  1. Luis Moreno
  2. Russel Reyes
  3. Mark Elman
The weekend also gave the public its first look at the all-new GR86 as it navigated the speedway alongside the GR Yaris.

TMP continues to live by its goal of supporting and promoting motorsports in the country by pushing limits for better with the Toyota Gazoo Racing Vios Cup. The third and final leg happens in November.


  1. Why not make it GR Yaris, GR Supra, or GR 86 cup instead?

    1. Too expensive. If the MSCC Miata Spec Series is already pushing P 2.5-million, a GR86 would be around P 3-million. Not really "grass roots racing" anymore.


Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.