Search CarGuide.PH

November 28, 2022

Mazda MX-5 Crowned Endurance Race Champions Anew

On November 27, 2022, Team MSCC Mazda Miata is crowned the 2022 Petron Makabayan Endurance Race Challenge over-all race champion after completing 188 laps over eight hours of non-stop racing. The team also managed to bag the Class 1 and Open A categories for both the 4- and 8-hour race.

Driven by international race driver and MSCC Miata Spec Series first runner-up, Angie King, along with racing veterans, Tyson Sy and Gaby dela Merced, the MX-5 performed flawlessly, completing the race ahead of 17 other finishers (the race had a field of 33 cars all in all). With the fastest time of 2:16:648—the MSCC Miata Spec Series car lapped the 4.2-kilometer Clark International Speedway 188 times in 8 hours—a new record for the endurance race. It finished two laps ahead of the second-place car

Team MSCC Mazda Miata is backed by Mazda Philippines, with a support team led by Edgen Dy-Liacco and Llyod Macatigos. It is nearly identical to the one-make MSCC Miata Spec Series race car, differing only with minor changes to the suspension and chassis to preserve its tires for the 8-hour endurance race. However, its powertrain—from its 2.0-liter Skyactiv-G engine and 6-speed Skyactiv-Drive manual transmission are completely stock, proving once again the unbeatable combination of performance, reliability, and durability of the sportscar.

As a visual bonus, Team MSCC Mazda Miata took on an eye-catching livery for the race. Dubbed, “Imagine,” this transformed the MX-5’s award-winning design into a rolling work of art, thanks to its digitally-printed vinyl wrap. The use of contrasting colors is meant to exude a sense of power, motion, and energy—attributes that are apt for the most-raced car in the world. Its race number, #55, is an homage to the Mazda 787B which won the 1991 24 Hours of Le Mans.

“In endurance racing, a car must not only be fast, but also be reliable and fuel efficient. We kept the engine and transmission stock in the Team MSCC Mazda Miata,” says Steven Tan, President and CEO of Mazda Philippines.

With a field made up of powerful and tuned race cars, the Team MSCC Mazda Miata lined up in 11th place after qualifying. When the race started at exactly 8 AM, the team immediately put on the pressure, using the MX-5’s nimble and superior handling to their advantage. Moreover, thanks to its fuel efficiency, it not only climbed up the leaderboard, but also managed to build a large gap to the rest of the field.

“Powered by Shell V-Power fuel and Shell Helix Ultra lubricants, we were able to maximize its performance, reliability, and speed over the grueling eight hours. Under the supreme driver team of Angie King, Tyson Sy, and Gaby dela Merced, the team not only finished first overall against more powerful competitors, but broke the number of laps recorded for the 8-hour endurance challenge,” adds Tan.

The Mazda MX-5’s overall victory at the 2022 Makabayan Endurance Race Challenge is just the latest race win for the venerable sportscar in the Philippines. It won the 8-Oras ng Pilipinas and 12-Hour Kalayaan Cup in 2019, and the 12-Hour Kalayaan Cup in 2021. In 2020, the annual race was sidelined by COVID-19 lockdown restrictions.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.