Search CarGuide.PH

December 7, 2022

Allan Uy Wins Inaugural MSCC Miata Spec Series

Allan Uy won the inaugural season of the Manila Sports Car Club (MSCC) Miata Spec Series in spectacular fashion by sweeping both races in Round 4 of the country’s first one-make sportscar racing series.

Uy, who amassed a large lead in points early on in the racing series, sat out Round 3 of the four-round racing series. This forced a winner-takes-all title showdown with Angie King in Round 4 last November 26, 2022 at the Clark International Speedway.

Despite a strong charge from King, who had to win both races to have a shot at the overall championship, Uy drove a calculated 12-lap race in the morning to seal the victory. Uy won Race 7 with King and Perez finishing second and third respectively. Already guaranteed of the overall title, Uy finished the season in style by being first once more in Race 8 with Tyson Sy in second and Angie King in third.

The MSCC Miata Spec Series featured three classes: Rota Masters Class, GT Radial Novice Class, and Shell Pro Class.

In the Rota Masters Class, Joey Almeda won Race 7 with Toti Turalba in second and Lito Ignacio in third. With Ignacio the only one running in Race 8, he managed to pick up the class win.

Meanwhile, in the GT Radial Novice Class, Kirk Baltazar took the top step in Race 7 with Javier Toledo and Enzo Celestino in second and third respectively. In Race 8, Aaron Guevara won with Diego Dela Cruz finishing second and Javier Toledo in third.

In terms of the class championship, Uy also won the Shell Pro Class ahead of Angie King and Paul Perez. In the Rota Masters Class, Windy Imperial clinched the class championship over Lito Ignacio and Joey Almeda. Finally, in the GT Radial Novice Class, Jamal Almario won over Kirk Baltazar and Diego Dela Cruz.

Though the wheel-to-wheel racing was the main highlight, MSCC members and Mazda Philippines put heart into the event by giving the experience of a lifetime to abandoned, abused, or neglected children.

Ten children from Duyan Ni Maria Children’s Home in Mabalacat, Pampanga were given “taxi” rides aboard the MSCC Miata Spec Series race cars with the MSCC drivers. Mazda Japan executives Hidetoshi Kudo and Hironori Tanaka, who flew in from Hiroshima, Japan to watch the final round, also drove around the Clark International Speedway with a child passenger, making it a memorable and touching experience for both driver and the children.

Aside from fulfilling the kids’ dreams of being driven in a race car, Mazda Philippines and MSCC Miata Spec Series partner, Pilipinas Shell, donated school supplies and toys to the 40-year old foundation.

“The MSCC Miata Spec Series isn’t just Mazda Philippines’ success,” says Steven Tan, President and CEO of Mazda Philippines. “It is everyone’s success. This includes the drivers, mechanics, marshals, race directors, team members, and everyone involved. We could not have done it without your support and passion. We can’t wait for yet another season of racing.”

As the Philippines’ first one-make sportscar racing series, all MSCC Miata Spec Series cars are identical, highlighting driving skill in the process.

The MSCC Miata Spec Series is sponsored by Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation, GT Radial tires, and Rota Wheels.

MSCC Miata Spec Series Round 4 Race Results
  • Race 7 – Rota Masters Class
    • 1st: Joey Almeda
    • 2nd: Toti Turalba
    • 3rd: Lito Ignacio
  • Race 7 – GT Radial Novice Class
    • 1st: Kirk Baltazar
    • 2nd: Javier Toledo
    • 3rd: Enzo Celestino
  • Race 7 – Shell Pro Class
    • 1st: Allan Uy
    • 2nd: Angie King
    • 3rd: Paul Perez
  • Race 8 – Rota Masters Class
  • 1st: Lito Ignacio
  • Race 8 – GT Radial Novice Class
    • 1st: Aaron Guevara
    • 2nd: Diego Dela Cruz
    • 3rd: Javier Toledo
  • Race 8 – Shell Pro Class
    • 1st: Allan Uy
    • 2nd: Tyson Sy
    • 3rd: Angie King
MSCC Miata Spec Series 2022 Championship Results
  • Rota Masters Class
    • 1st: Windy Imperial
    • 2nd: Lito Ignacio
    • 3rd: Joey Almeda
  • GT Radial Novice Class
    • 1st: Jamal Almario
    • 2nd: Kirk Baltazar
    • 3rd: Diego Dela Cruz
  • Shell Pro Class
    • 1st: Allan Uy
    • 2nd: Angie King
    • 3rd: Paul Perez

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.