Search CarGuide.PH

March 7, 2016

GT Radial FlatOut Race Series (FORS) All Set for Bigger 2016 Season

The country’s premier grassroots motorsports event that’s “made for racers, by racers” - the GT Radial FlatOut Race Series (FORS) – is all geared up for an even bigger season this year.

The 2016 race calendar consists of an eight-round championship that shuffles between the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) and Clark International Speedway (CIS). Each leg hosts two types competition, a Time Trial challenge and Grid race. Competitors are then grouped according to their lap time in both categories, creating a level playing field that allow drivers to race within their limits. The season is then culminated with the 8 Hour Philippine Endurance Championship (PEC), which is the country’s longest endurance race.

FORS’ 2016 season welcomes several rule changes that help improve both driver skill and on-track action.

This is the pilot year where the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), the country’s four-wheeled motorsports governing body, will act as observers to the races. FORS expects to learn with their guidance, stepping up to proper local and international standards.

A collaboration with the AAP will also see students from their young driver Motorsport Development Program run in FORS. The experience gives them track time in a series that boasts well-behaved and responsible race car drivers.

Grids A, B, and C, where the fastest drivers race wheel-to-wheel, will also now be dedicated competitive brackets. Thus, AAP requires all racers in these categories to apply for a Clubman license. Meanwhile, a group was added to the existing Grid races, Grid E, to accommodate more drivers.

Finally, the new Club Class will host races for various car clubs as well as the newly-formed ‘The Perfect Lap’ which is a one lap battle for rear-wheel-drive cars.

FORS 2016 Race Calendar
  • Round 2 - Clark International Speedway (April 9)
  • Round 3 - Batangas Racing Circuit (May 7)
  • Round 4 - Clark International Speedway (June 4)
  • Round 5 - Batangas Racing Circuit (July 2)
  • Round 6 - Batangas Racing Circuit (August 6)
  • Round 7 - Batangas Racing Circuit (September 17)
  • Round 8 - Clark International Speedway (October 15)
  • PEC / Intergroup Track Day - Batangas Racing Circuit (December 3, 4)
“2016 is all about leveling up to a whole new improved standard with the help of AAP and FIA. Not only does this give our regular drivers the opportunity to vie for a national award during the annual AAP Awards Night, but also helps us organizers and race officials enhance our kills and knowledge,” said FORS co-founder Edward Dela Rosa.

Entry fee is for the Time Trial, Grid Race, and Clubman is P3,500 per class, inclusive of timing and driver insurance. Package discounts apply if a participant decides to join more than one class.

For more info or inquiries, visit the FlatOut Race Series page on Facebook.

1 comment:

  1. Proof read sir, skills your missing a "s" CAPE fors driver #69


Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.