Search CarGuide.PH

June 24, 2017

Ford's 1.0-liter EcoBoost Wins International Engine of the Year Anew

Ford’s 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine has been voted 2017 International Engine of the Year “Best Engine Under 1.0-liter” for the sixth year in a row, meaning the compact and powerful three-cylinder petrol engine remains undefeated in its category since launch in 2012.

Judges praised the engine’s combination of performance, fuel-efficiency and technology. The 1.0-liter EcoBoost has now won 10 International Engine of the Year awards including overall winner a record three times, and “Best Newcomer”.

The Ford’s 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine is offered with 100-horsepower, 125-horsepower, and 140-horsepower outputs. The frugal three-cylinder engine was named “Best Engine Under 1.0-liter” by a panel of 58 automotive journalists, from 31 countries. First introduced to the Ford Focus in 2012, the innovative engine has continued to dominate its segment, faced with growing competition in a category popular with car buyers and important to carmakers. This year, the sub-1.0-liter award category featured 35 engines, nine more than in the 1.0-liter EcoBoost’s debut year.

The 1.0-liter EcoBoost engine featuring cylinder deactivation technology is now being rolled out starting with the 2018 Fiesta. It is designed to deliver reduced running costs for customers by automatically stopping one of the engine’s cylinders when full capacity is not needed, such as when coasting or cruising.

The other winners of the 2017 International Engine of the Year are as follows:
  • Overall Winner: Ferrari 3.9-liter Bi-Turbo V8 (Ferrari 488 GTB/Spider) - 251 points
  • Porsche 3.0-liter Turbo F6 (Porsche 911) - 216 points
  • BMW 1.5-liter Gasoline-Electric Hybrid (BMW i8) - 151 points
  • Audi 2.5-liter Turbo I5 (Audi RS3, TT RS) - 139 points
  • Ford 999-cc Turbo I3 (Ford Fiesta, EcoSport, Focus) - 136 points
  • Tesla Full-Electric Powertrain (Tesla Model S, Model X) - 135 points
  • PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2-liter Turbo I3 (Peugeot 208, 308) - 131 points
  • Porsche 2.0-liter Turbo F4 (Porsche 718 Boxster, 718 Cayman) - 128 points
  • Ferrari 6.3-liter V12 (Ferrari F12) - 113 points

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.