Search CarGuide.PH

August 15, 2017

Track Records Fall as the FlatOut Race Series Returns to BRC

Now on its 6th round, the 2017 season of the FlatOut Race Series (FORS) still continues to heat up as a massive 84-car entry list took to the Batangas Racing Circuit (BRC) in an attempt to shatter old records.

Rafael la O' took home the most number of trophies of all the competitors that day. He emerged victorious in both Brackets A and R time attack sessions where he set a fastest lap of 1:45.739 in the #1 Auto Magic Honda Civic EK. This shattered the previous record by a commanding 2.555 secs. That afternoon, la O' further cemented his dominance by winning the GT Radial Grid A race.

With la O' taking 1st, Lance Binamira in the BPS Racing Toyota Corolla AE92 was 2nd fastest in Bracket R with his 1:45.828 best. Eduardo Suiza also improved on his previous personal record where he clocked a 1:47.454 lap driving the #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG. This was good enough for 3rd in Bracket R and 2nd place in Bracket A. Dondon Portugal likewise joined the group on the podium setting a 1:50.535 in Bracket A.

Andrew de Asis stretched his championship lead even further by winning Bracket B with a 1:56.309 time. In 2nd was his Blanche Racing teammate Aaron Lao, while Zeb Mendoza finished 3rd.

A jam-packed Bracket C saw 10 drivers fight for top honors. That award went to Bubi Camus in the BRE x Carmudi Mazda MX-5 NA that set a 1:59.212 best. Sydney Sarmiento returned in a detuned Blanche Racing Honda Integra and managed to claim 2nd in class. Behind him in the time sheets was Iris Nelson Balbin in 3rd.

Ralph Tan has improved on every outing so far, now achieving a 1st place finish in Bracket D. AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) finalist Bernard Michael Santos moved up a class to claim 2nd while Greg Suing was 3rd.

The top 3 finishers in Bracket E were Dan Errol Panganiban, Carlos Marzo, and Armand Marcaida. In Bracket F, Victoriano Edillon beat Robert Tan and Noel Delos Reyes for 1st place. Another MSDP finalist landed on the podium in Bracket G. Lady driver Chenee Jimenez finished 1st, ahead of Melvin Cervantes in 2nd and Mark Pascual in 3rd.

In the Grid Race, Eduardo Suiza led the early stages of the GT Radial Grid A race, but fell behind Dondon Portugal in the Mitsubishi Evolution 7 and Rafael la O' in the Honda Civic EK. The two battled for 1st place throughout the 12-lap race with la O' taking the win by a slim 3.735 sec margin. Portugal crossed the line 2nd and Suiza in 3rd. Newcomer Shane Henderson in a Subaru WRX STI also put in a solid run to finish 4th.

The KYB Grid B race was a head-to-head battle between Blanche Racing teammates Andrew de Asis and Aaron Lao. Sadly, the on track action was short lived after Lao slowed down with a technical problem, handing de Asis the win.

Ethanworx Racing's Jonmark Ong made a mark on his first FORS outing this year. He dominated the SmartFuels Grid C race, finishing a lap ahead of his nearest rival Paul Santos and Jack Saquilayan who ended the race in 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

It was another win for Ralph Tan in the Recaro Grid D race. He took the chequered flag by 0.855 secs, keeping Greg Suing in 2nd behind him throughout the 10-lap race. Ronn Cantindig was a further 2.323 secs behind in 3rd.

The fight between Victoriano Edillon and Andre Makkina Tan went down to the finish line. Both drivers put on a great show in Worksbell Grid E where Edillon edged out by a mere 0.082 secs to take the win. Tan was 2nd while Robert Tan in the Toyota Yaris was 3rd.

The next stop for the FlatOut Race Series (FORS) will be on September 9, which will once again take place at the Batangas Racing Circuit.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.