Search CarGuide.PH

June 22, 2024

Porsche 911 GT3 R Wins LMGT3 Debut At 24 Hours Of Le Mans

The 2024 Le Mans 24-hour race ended with the 111th class win for a Porsche racing car. Works driver Richard Lietz, Morris Schuring, and Yasser Shahin took the flag first in the new LMGT3 category in Manthey EMA’s Porsche 911 GT3 R.

Wild weather characterized the 92nd edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. A record crowd of 329,000 witnessed this year’s endurance classic. Torrential rain saw the race director deploying the safety cars and neutralizing the field. Further showers with about two hours left on the clock and during the final moments of the race pushed the battle for glory to the extreme. Thanks to a perfect strategy and strong driving performances, Richard Lietz from Austria, the Dutchman Morris Schuring and Yasser Shahin from Australia crossed the finish line first in the LMGT3 class without any major incidents. After 24 hours, the 911 GT3 R from Manthey EMA held a one-lap lead over its hottest pursuers.

“To be the first manufacturer to win at Le Mans with a GT3 race car is a unique story that nobody can take away from us,” says a delighted Sebastian Golz, Project Manager Porsche 911 GT3 R. “That’s a chapter that we wrote in collaboration with all of our colleagues in Weissach. It was a new challenge for us. Congratulations to the Manthey EMA team, as well, the teamwork ran brilliantly. Things are also looking very good for us in the world championship standings, we managed to secure a lot of points... Now, it’s time to go for the world championship title.”

“I’m thrilled with Manthey EMA’s class victory in the LMGT3 class,” reflects Thomas Laudenbach. The Vice President Porsche Motorsport adds: “With this triumph, Porsche has cemented itself even further at the top of the GT3 classification in the WEC. Huge compliments to the team from the Eifel. This is a big win for Porsche!”

2024 Le Mans 24 Hours LMGT3 Class Top Three
  1. Lietz/Schuring/Shahin (A/NL/AUS), Porsche 911 GT3 R #91, 281 laps
  2. Farfus/Galael/Leung (BR/IDN/UK), BMW #31, -1 lap
  3. Olsen/Pedersen/Roda (N/DK/I), Ford #88, -1 lap

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.