Search CarGuide.PH

March 14, 2024

Here Are The Winners Of The 2024 Petron Philippine Overland Expedition

Fourteen competitor teams from all over the Philippines battled it out at the Petron Philippine Overland Expedition 2024 (PHLOX).

In the end, it was just a difference of 12 points that separated the winning team from the second placer. Bringing home the honors as PHLOX 2024 Champions along with P 500,000 in cash prize, Team MYTTires x FredGarage x GibaPH (119) rose victorious, led by drivers Jassoren Flores, Kap. Jess Mendoza, and Niko Soria, and assisted by co-drivers Carl Sabariaga, Joel Reyes, Fred Garcia, and support crew Jayson Mendoza.

Finishing 2nd with a total score of 958 points was Team Ironman Pampanga who received P 200,000 in cash prize, and Team Siga 4x4 from Nueva Ecija in 3rd with a total score of 852 points, receiving P 100,000 in cash prize.

Though the jungles of General Nakar lived up to its reputation as one of the most difficult trails in the country, it was the reputation of the Filipino off-roader whose unofficial motto of “walang iwanan” was what prevailed, as the spirit of friendship and camaraderie saw several competitors going the extra mile not just for their team mates but for their fellow competitors as well.

Most notable was Jassoren “Sonjay” Flores of Team 119 who, after completing the crossing, went back to the dreaded mud pit thrice to help other competitor teams cross going to the checkpoint/campsite. Another notable mention was Team GenSan x CDO who, because of a logistical dilemma, decided to return to General Nakar via the reverse route, and by doing so, helped rescue and recover another participant vehicle they encountered on their way back.

Sonjay Flores was already a champion even before his team was declared winners.

The Petron Philippine Overland Expedition is co-organized by Mototesto Overland Equipment and All Traction Performance, made possible with the support of Petron Corporation, in association with Motolite, and technical partner Gears Banawe, the local distributor of ARB 4x4 Accessories, Bushranger, Second Air.

PHLOX 2024 Winners

First Place: Team MYTTires x FredGarage x GibaPH (#119)
  • Jassoren Flores
  • Kap. Jess Mendoza
  • Niko Soria
  • Carl Sabariaga
  • Joel Reyes
  • Fred Garcia
  • Jayson Mendoza
Second Place: Team Ironman Pampanga (#103)
  • Jek Sason
  • Bekoy Perez
  • Roswell Macapagal
  • Arthur San Juan
  • Edison Dungca
  • Lawrence Valdez
Third Place: Team Siga 1 Nueva Ecija (#111)
  • Ron Michael Liwag
  • Marconi De Guzman
  • Victor Del Rosario
  • Santiago Buanaventura
  • Benjo Garcia
  • Rainier Ramos
  • Bojie Jimenez

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.