Search CarGuide.PH

September 5, 2019

Rain-Soaked Track Adds to Vios Cup Round 3 Action

The rain did not stop the action at the third leg of the Toyota Vios Racing Festival this weekend, as racers from different classes and participating teams sped through the track of the Clark International Speedway with added challenge but heightened waku-doki spirit.

At the end of the August 31 race day, Toyota Motor Philippines (TMP) recognized more than 20 racers who successfully made it to the podium after competing at the second round of the Vios Circuit Championship and the third round of the Vios Autocross Challenge.

Claiming two first place victories at the Circuit Challenge Celebrity Class is Troy Montero who, unfortunately, had to drop out of Race 6 after a surprising crash with Sporting Class racer John Dizon, right after crossing the finish line for Race 5. Daniel Matsunaga took the top spot of the Celebrity Class for Race 6.

Aside from Montero, celebrity racer Chie Filomeno also slid off-track due to aquaplaning, causing her to not finish the final race. Both celebrities were quickly brought to the hospital for checkups, and were cleared to be back at the venue in time for the awarding ceremonies.

“No matter what happens, I still find myself coming back to this sport. The adrenaline rush it gives me is out of this world,” said Filomeno in an Instagram post she wrote after the race.

“Despite the outside damage, the driver’s area was totally untouched. We also have a roll cage, race suit, and helmet, and most especially the HANS (head and neck) device to keep us safe,” explained Montero in his own Instagram account.

In the Circuit Challenge’s Sporting Class, Red Diwa of JBT Racing - Toyota Isabela won Race 4 and Eggy Ong of JBT Racing- Toyota San Fernando managed to keep the first place title in both Races 5 and 6.

In the Promotional Class, it was Julian Tang of Toyota Otis Obengers who led in Race 4 while one of the only two female racers in this class, Elysse Menorca of Toyota North EDSA Obenger won Races 5 and 6.

During last weekend’s Autocross event, Carlos Inigo Anton won the Car Clubs category, Jose Luis Altoveros led the Media Category, while Jules Aquino took the top spot in the Social Media Personalities category.

“On behalf of Toyota Motor Philippines, I would like to express my deepest appreciation to our customers and fans who have dedicated time and effort to witness our Vios motorsports events,” said TMP President Satoru Suzuki during the race’s opening ceremonies attended by the race participants and spectators.

TMP has been organizing Vios motorsport events in the country for six years now. For this season, TMP added the Autocross Challenge to the event, transforming the annual Vios Cup into a more inclusive and accessible Vios Racing Festival.

The next and final leg of the Vios Racing Festival is scheduled on November 9, still at the Clark international Speedway.

2019 Toyota Vios Cup Race 4 Results:
  • Celebrity Class: Troy Montero (1st), Daniel Matsunaga (2nd), Gretchen Ho (3rd)
  • Promotional Class: Julian Tang (1st), Julian Neri (2nd), Darrel Garbes (3rd)
  • Sporting Class: Red Diwa (1st), John Dizon (2nd), Eggy Ong (3rd)
2019 Toyota Vios Cup Race 5 Results:
  • Celebrity Class: Troy Montero (1st), Daniel Matsunaga (2nd), Aubrey Miles (3rd)
  • Promotional Class: Elysse Menorca (1st), Julian Neri (2nd), Francis Adriano (3rd)
  • Sporting Class: Eggy Ong (1st), Marc Soong (2nd), Clive Fermin (3rd)
2019 Toyota Vios Cup Race 6 Results:
  • Celebrity Class: Daniel Matsunaga (1st), Gretchen Ho (2nd), Aubrey Miles (3rd)
  • Promotional Class: Elysse Menorca (1st), Francis Adriano (2nd), Julian Tang (3rd)
  • Sporting Class: Eggy Ong (1st), Red Diwa (2nd), Clive Fermin (3rd)
Autocross Challenge Results:
  • Social Media Influencers: Jules Aquino (1st), Reph Bangsil (2nd), Jun Sunga (3rd)
  • Media: Jose Altoveros (1st), Earl Lee (2nd), Chewy Buhion (3rd)
  • Car Clubs: Carlos Anton (1st), Sean Ng (2nd), Mickie Carbonell (3rd)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.