Search CarGuide.PH

February 25, 2021

DTI Adds More Countries Exempted from Automotive Safeguard Duties

The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) has amended its safeguard duty to include more exempted countries.

This includes countries such as Thailand, Indonesia (for passenger vehicles), Japan, and China—the biggest sources of imported vehicles in the country. It does, however, exempt countries such as Malaysia and India as well as luxury vehicles.

However, taking into consideration a World Trade Organization (WTO) agreement on safeguards that excludes the imposition of safeguard measures originating from developing countries, the DTI has amended its list, adding more countries exempted from safeguard duties.

You can check out the full list of countries below, but it doesn’t exact change the big picture as the country’s primary source of vehicles—Thailand, Japan, China—are still included in the safeguard duties list.

Carmakers have taken different steps with Toyota and Isuzu offering refundable safeguard deposits, while Geely and GAC Motor increasing their prices altogether.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.