Search CarGuide.PH

November 7, 2017

This is the Greatest Nissan Race Car Ever

To celebrate the upcoming 20th edition of the NISMO, Nissan and NISMO gave fans the chance to pick their greatest Top 20 Nissan/NISMO race cars of all time.

Ultimately, several Nissan GT-Rs swept the Twitter polls proving its importance both on and off the racetrack.

On day one, the Nissan GT-R Super GT from 2008 beat out the competition, scoring 61 percent of the vote ahead of the Nissan R381 / R382, the 2017 Nissan DPi, and the current Nissan Altima Supercar.

Day two’s winner was also a Super GT champ, with the GT-R NISMO GT500 from 2014-15 taking the win over the Nissan R92CP, the Datsun 510, and the Le Mans pole-winning Nissan R90CK.

The ever-popular Skyline GT-R R32 won on the third day, earning 59 percent of the vote. Second place went to the Nissan R390 GT1 (third place at Le Mans), third to the R91CP (Daytona 24 Hour winner), and fourth the 1982/83 Skyline Super Silhouette.

GT-R fans had a tough choice on day four with the Bathurst 12-hour, Super GT GT300 champion and Blancpain GT Championship-winning Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 beating the famous Pennzoil-backed GT-R from Japan from 1998. The Daytona and Sebring-winning 300XT from 1994 finished third ahead of the 1966 East African Safari-winning Datsun Bluebird 1300SS.

The final elimination round featured Nissan’s World Championship-winning GT1 GT-R, the legendary IMSA GTP ZX-Turbo, the 1999 British Touring Championship-winning Nissan Primera and the 2003 Japanese GT Championship-winning GT-R. Ultimately, the GT-R R34 prevailed with 52 percent of the vote.

In the first semi-final round, a quartet of GT-Rs were pitted together: the 2008 GT-R Super GT, 2003 GT-R R34 JGTC, the GT-R NISMO GT3, and the GT-R NISMO GT1. This round went to the GT-R NISMO GT3 with 39 percent of the vote followed closely by the 2003 GT-R R34 JGTC with 35 percent.

During the next semi-final round, the GT-R R32, GT-R NISMO GT500, Pennzoil Skyline GT-R, and Nissan R92CP were rounded up with 36 percent of the vote going to the GT-R R32 resulting in its win.

The finals saw four iconic GT-R race cars going for the title of the Greatest Nissan Racecar of all time. The showdown included: the GT-R NISMO GT-3, Skyline GT-R R32, 2003 Skyline GT-R R34, and the 2014/15 GT-R NISMO GT500. The Skyline GT-R R32 won them all with 33 percent of the votes cementing its reputation as the greatest.

The NISMO Festival presented by MOTUL happens this coming November 26 at the Fuji International Speedway. It will be live streamed on NISMO.TV.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.