Search CarGuide.PH

May 12, 2023

Hyundai Targets 3rd Straight Nürburgring 24 Hours Endurance Race Win

Hyundai Motor Company will compete in the 2023 Nürburgring 24 Hours, the most grueling automotive endurance race in the world, for the eighth consecutive year, seeking its third straight victory in the TCR class and first win in the VT2 class.

As its name suggests, Nürburgring 24 Hours is a day-long annual touring car and GT racing event in Germany that takes place on a combination of tracks on a circuit that is affectionately known as the ‘Green Hell’. The nearly 25.4-kilometer (15.8-mile) lap length allows more than 200 cars and over 700 drivers to participate. Hyundai Motorsport participates in events like this to verify state-of-the-art technologies for transfer to N production models.

Hyundai Motorsport will enter two Elantra N TCRs in the Touring Car Race class. One will be driven by the returning victors Mikel Azcona (Spain), Marc Basseng and Manuel Lauck (both Germany). The second will be piloted by the American IMSA TCR champion Bryan Herta Autosport team comprised of Michael Lewis, Taylor Hagler, Mason Filippi and Harry Gottsacker (all of the U.S.).

Hyundai Driving Experience (HDX) will enter two production-based i30 Fastback N Cup cars in the VT2 Front class (turbo engines up to 2.0 liters). Hyundai Driving Experience (HDX) instructor Marcus Willhardt and other 3 drivers (all from Germany) will drive one vehicle. The second will be handled by HDX ‘Dare to Dream’ program participant Junesung Park and media drivers from Germany, USA and Korea.

Notably, Park, who is multiple award-winning driver in the Hyundai N Festival, was selected as a junior driver and joined HDX ‘Dare to Dream’ pilot program that launches later this year for amateur and professional racers who seek to compete in future Nürburgring 24 Hours races.

“The Nürburgring circuit is the cradle of the N brand and where our ‘Born in Namyang, Honed at Nürburgring’ mantra comes to life,” said Till Wartenberg, Vice President of N Brand & Motorsport Sub-Division at Hyundai Motor Company. “Alongside the 2022 NBR 24 Hours TCR class champions, we are delighted to welcome the U.S.-based Brian Herta Autosport team and Korean junior driver Jun Sung Park, who will be competing in the race through the ‘Dare to Dream’ program.”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.