Search CarGuide.PH

May 22, 2021

ASEAN NCAP Toughens Standards To Get 5-Star Rating

The ASEAN New Car Assessment Program or NCAP is toughening the requirements to net a perfect 5-star rating. The new testing protocols will require a bevy of driver assist technologies aimed at reducing pedestrian and motorcyclist-related accidents. It will be in effect this year until 2025.

Before the revised testing protocols, the ASEAN NCAP puts emphasis on three things: Adult Occupancy Protection, Child Occupancy Protection, and Safety Assist. These carry a weighted score of 50 percent, 25 percent, and 25 percent respectively.

However, due to the increasing number of road accidents involving pedestrians and motorcyclists (cyclists included) in the ASEAN region, the ASEAN NCAP is responding by revising the weighted scores to include Motorcyclist Safety as well. The revised weighting is now 40 percent for Adult Occupancy Protection, 20 percent for Child Occupancy Protection, 20 percent for Safety Assist, and 20 percent Motorcyclist.

For Motorcyclist Safety, the ASEAN NCAP will award points for the fitment of technologies such as Blind Spot Detection (4 points), Automatic High Beam (1 point), Pedestrian Protection (2 points), and Advance Motorcyclist Detection/Safety Technology (1 point).

Meanwhile, for Safety Assist, the ASEAN NCAP will also add Autonomous Emergency Braking or AEB (city and inter-urban) into the mix, joining Anti-lock Brakes (ABS) with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD), Electronic Stability Control (ESC), and Seatbelt Reminder (SBR).

How will the revised ratings affect vehicles tested under the old safety protocol? Take for example the 2020 Honda City. With a score of 86.54, it is awarded with a 5-star safety rating using the 2017-2020 protocols. However, because the City isn’t equipped with any Motorcyclist-related Safety Technology, its rating drops to 62.62 out of 100 or a 4-star rating.

Vehicles tested with the new 2021-2025 protocol will carry a maroon-colored badge, while those tested using the older protocols will have a blue-colored badge.

The first vehicle tested under the new 2021-2025 protocol is the Perodua Ativa, the Malaysian market version of the Toyota Raize (see lead photo). Despite the increased strictness, the Ativa managed to bag a 5-star rating scoring 83.40 percent.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.