Search CarGuide.PH

May 29, 2020

EDSA to See Drastic Transformation When NCR Shifts to GCQ

Spurred by the necessity to adapt to the “new normal,” the Department of Transport has just fast tracked the modernization of the public transport sector, especially along EDSA.

Greeting motorists as early as June 1, the two inner-most lanes will be dedicated to buses, separated by barriers. The middle lanes will then be dedicated to private vehicles, while the outer-most lane, separated by a barrier, will be for cyclists. Commuters who will need to take buses, can only access them via selected pedestrian overpasses near the predetermined 16 stops.

Along with the scrapping of the so-called “yellow lane,” the DOTr is rationalizing bus routes with 31 servicing the entire Metro Manila:
  1. EDSA Carousel
  2. Monumento – Balagtas
  3. Monumento – PITX
  4. Monumento – YGC
  5. North EDSA – Fairview
  6. Quezon Avenue – Angat
  7. Quezon Avenue – EDSA Taft
  8. Quezon Avenue – Montalban
  9. Cubao – Montalban
  10. Cubao – Antipolo 
  11. Cubao – Doroteo Jose
  12. Gilmore – Taytay
  13. Kalentong – Pasig
  14. Buendia – BGC
  15. Ayala – Alabang
  16. Ayala – Binan
  17. Ayala – FTI Complex
  18. Monumento – EDSA Taft
  19. PITX – NAIA Loop
  20. North EDSA – BGC
  21. Monumento – Meycauyan
  22. Monumento – SJDM
  23. Monumento – Angat
  24. PITX – Sucat
  25. PITX – Alabang
  26. BGC – Alabang
  27. PITX – NAIC
  28. PITX – Trece Martires
  29. PITX – Dasmarinas
  30. PITX – General Mariano Alvarez
  31. PITX – Cavite City
Along with these new changes, the DOTr will be implementing a two-phase introduction of mass transport.

For the Phase 1 (covering June 1 to 21), trains and bus augmentation, taxis, TNVS, shuttle services, Point-to-Point buses, and bicycles will be allowed to operate, with limited passenger capacity.

Tricycles will also be allowed, but subject to the prior approval of the concerned LGU.

In Phase 1, no provincial buses will be allowed to enter Metro Manila.

Meanwhile, for Phase 2 (covering June 22 to 30), Public Utility Buses (PUBs), Modern PUVs, and UV Express will already be allowed to operate, also with limited passenger capacity, along with the initial set of transport modes that were allowed to operate during Phase 1.

The railway will also resume operations in two phases with 11 stations in Phase 1 and 15 in Phase 2. This will be based on passenger demand:

The DOTr and the LTFRB is also pushing for other modernization initiatives including automated fare collection for cashless payment and electronic toll collection (for those going through toll roads). Likewise, the LTFRB will roll out an online platform for the licensing, registration, and even hearing of cases for public utility vehicles.

The DOTr is also reminding all commuters to adhere to the following safety guidelines:
  • Wearing of face masks at all times
  • Implementation of no-contact measures such as cashless payments.
  • Use of thermal scanners
  • Availability of alcohol and sanitizers in Public Utility Vehicles (PUVs)
  • Disinfection of high-touch surfaces of vehicles
  • Establishment of disinfection facilities in various public transport terminals
  • Contact Tracing

No comments:

Post a Comment

Feel free to comment or share your views. Comments that are derogatory and/or spam will not be tolerated. We reserve the right to moderate and/or remove comments.